Imagineering Terminology: Wienies vs. Weenies

If you read as many books and websites about Disney parks as I do, you will discover that there is more than one way to spell “wienies”. Some books and sites use “wienies” while others use “weenies”, and there is some debate among Disney fans and scholars as to which is the “correct” spelling.

I used “weenies” in my original “Imagineering Model” presentation and the initial outline for The Imagineering Pyramid, but during my “attention to detail” review (during which I tried to make sure I was consistent and accurate in my use of terms and wording), I discovered that “wienies” is the spelling used most often in my sources, including the Imagineering Field Guide series, John Hench’s Designing Disney: Imagineering and the Art of the Show, the Master Imagineering Glossary (found in Walt Disney Imagineering: A Behind the Dreams Look at Making More Magic Real), and Marty Sklar’s One Little Spark: Mickey’s Ten Commandments and The Road to Imagineering. Based on those references, I chose to use the “wienies” spelling in the book.

Apologies to any of you who prefer “weenies” over “wienies.”

Leave a Reply

