Pyramid Pairings – An Introduction

As I said in my first post, one of the things I want to do with this blog is to address topics that I wasn’t able to cover in The Imagineering Pyramid. One specific topic I want to explore is something I mentioned in in my “what to expect” post and in a recent post about Attention to Detail and Plussing in drum corps – something I call “Pyramid Pairings”.

16_Pyramid

Pyramid Pairings are specific pairs of Imagineering Pyramid principles and how they work together. For instance, how can you use Transitions and Hidden Mickeys together? How about Forced Perspective and The “it’s a small world” Effect?

The Imagineering Pyramid addresses several of these, but I want to look at how each of the principles pairs with the others in a more systematic way. At one point I considered including an appendix in the book about this, but quickly realized that it could almost be a book by itself. By my count, there are just over 100 pairings that we can look at, so there is a lot of ground to cover.

Some of these pairings will be very straight forward and obvious, such as It All Begins with a Story & Creative Intent or Attention to Detail & Theming. Others will be a bit more challenging, such as pairing Forced Perspective & Hidden Mickeys or Long, Medium, and Close Shots & Kinetics. Wish me luck with this!

In addition to looking at the principles of each pairing intersect and how you can use various pairings in your creative projects, I also hope to provide examples from both inside the parks and beyond the berm of various pairings at work, including examples from the three specific fields discussed in The Imagineering Pyramidgame design, instructional design, and leadership & management.

My plan is to start with looking at how It All Begins with a Story pairs up with each of the other principles in the pyramid. This means the first set of pairings will be:

  • It All Begins with a Story / Creative Intent
  • It All Begins with a Story / Attention to Detail
  • It All Begins with a Story / Theming
  • It All Begins with a Story / Long, Medium, and Close Shots
  • It All Begins with a Story / Wienies
  • It All Begins with a Story / Transitions
  • It All Begins with a Story / Storyboards
  • It All Begins with a Story / Pre-Shows and Post-Shows
  • It All Begins with a Story / Forced Perspective
  • It All Begins with a Story / “Read”-ability
  • It All Begins with a Story / Kinetics
  • It All Begins with a Story / The “it’s a small world” Effect
  • It All Begins with a Story / Hidden Mickeys
  • It All Begins with a Story / Plussing

As I said, I have a lot of ground to cover. Look for the first of these soon!

Thoughts? Tell me what you think in the comments!

Leave a Reply

